Kings County Jail Population Data

Kings County inmate population works unlike most county jail systems. Brooklyn has no county jail of its own. People held on Kings County cases sit in New York City Department of Correction custody, mostly at Rikers Island. So when readers look up Kings County jail population data, the real numbers are city jail numbers tied to a borough of arrest. That shapes how the figures should be read. The jail population for Kings County is a slice of a larger city total, broken out by facility role, custody status, and court of commitment. Capacity, daily counts, and trends all flow from city and state data sources rather than a single Brooklyn roster.

Public Record Search

Sponsored Results

How to Look Up Kings County Jail Population Data

There is no Brooklyn-only jail count to pull. Kings County jail population data lives inside New York City reporting because Brooklyn defendants are held by the city. The clearest official starting points are the NYC Department of Correction and the Mayor's Office. The NYC Department of Correction publishes facility information and population reporting. Citywide figures also appear in the Mayor's Management Report and in Board of Correction meeting materials. These are the records that hold real, sourced numbers.

Reading them takes a little care. Most counts are systemwide, not borough-specific. A city total includes people arrested in all five boroughs, so a single Rikers number is not a Kings County number. Some reports break custody down by status or by facility. Few break it down by borough of arrest. Monthly population reports give the most current official figures. Annual reports and the Mayor's Management Report give yearly averages. When a figure is a citywide DOC count, it should be read as citywide, not as a Brooklyn-only jail roster.


Kings County Jail Capacity Overview

Capacity for Kings County cases is spread across NYC DOC facilities, most of them on Rikers Island in East Elmhurst, Queens. The city has run roughly ten detention facilities in recent years. Eight sit on Rikers Island. Two more are hospital prison wards, and the city keeps court holding space in each borough. NYC DOC does not publish a single rated bed count for each facility in its public facility text. The roles are public, even where the per-facility bed number is not. Each Rikers building serves a different custody need, so beds are not interchangeable across the system.

The table below lists the main DOC facilities that can hold people on Brooklyn cases, with the facility role taken from the official DOC facilities page. Rated capacity is marked as not published because NYC DOC does not state a per-facility bed figure in the public source. Current population shifts daily and should be read from the most recent monthly report rather than a fixed number.

FacilityRated CapacityRole
Eric M. Taylor CenterNot publishedMale housing.
George R. Vierno CenterNot publishedDetained and sentenced male adults.
Otis Bantum Correctional CenterNot publishedMale adults; dormitory and cell housing.
Robert N. Davoren CenterNot publishedRikers Island facility.
North Infirmary CommandNot publishedAcute medical, infirmary, ADA-compliant housing.
Anna M. Kross CenterNot publishedDetained and sentenced male adults; 40-acre site.
Bellevue OTxHUNot publishedComplex medical needs; therapeutic housing.

Note: Per-facility bed counts are not stated in the public NYC DOC facility text, so capacity should be confirmed from monthly population reports before any figure is published.


Average Daily Population

Average daily population, or ADP, is the mean number of people held on a typical day. For Kings County this is a city figure, not a borough figure. A DOC media page for fiscal year 2020 stated the system managed ten detainee facilities and held an average daily detainee population of roughly 6,200 people. That same year the system logged more than 21,000 admissions. These are historical, citywide counts. They are useful for scale but should not be read as a current Brooklyn-only number.

Year-over-year change for Kings County alone is not published in the official sources. The city ADP rises and falls with arrest volume, bail decisions, and case processing speed. To get the most recent ADP, the monthly DOC population report is the right source. It carries the official current count. Older figures like the fiscal 2020 average are best treated as context, not as today's population.


Demographic Breakdown

The official NYC DOC facility text describes how the population is segmented, even though it does not publish full race, gender, and age percentages for Brooklyn cases. Most Rikers buildings listed for Kings County cases hold male adults. Specialized units hold people with acute medical needs or complex medical conditions. The Bellevue therapeutic housing serves the most complex medical cases. Gender, race, and age percentages are not broken out by borough of arrest in the public source, so any such figure should come from a city report, not a borough estimate.

The table below shows how the system groups people by housing role, drawn from the DOC facilities page. It is a segmentation map, not a percent breakdown, because per-borough percentages are not published.

Population SegmentWhere Held
General male adult housingEric M. Taylor Center, Otis Bantum, Anna M. Kross
Detained and sentenced male adultsGeorge R. Vierno Center, Anna M. Kross
Acute medical and infirmary careNorth Infirmary Command
Complex medical / therapeuticBellevue Outposted Therapeutic Housing Units
Visit processingBenjamin Ward Visit Center

Pretrial vs. Sentenced Population

The jail population splits into two main groups. Pretrial detainees are held while a case is still open. People age 16 and older are committed to DOC custody at arraignment if they cannot make bail or are remanded without a bail option. The second group is the city-sentenced population. These are people serving a sentence of one year or less in local jail. A sentence over one year generally moves the person to state prison under DOCCS, not the city jail. The exact share of each group for Brooklyn cases is not published as a borough figure, but the two categories define how the jail count is built.

StatusWhat It Means
PretrialHeld after arraignment because bail was not posted or the person was remanded; case still open.
City-sentencedServing a jail term of one year or less in local custody.
Over one yearGenerally transferred to state prison under DOCCS rather than held in city jail.

Misdemeanor vs. Felony Population

A clean misdemeanor-versus-felony count for Kings County jail custody is not published in the official DOC sources. The custody system tracks people by status and facility role, not by a simple borough charge tally. Charge level shows up in court records, not in the jail population text. Felony cases for Brooklyn run through the Supreme Court Criminal Term. Misdemeanors run through the NYC Criminal Court. People held pretrial on either type can sit in the same DOC facilities.

To check charge level for a named person, court records are the right tool, not a population report. The Kings County arrest records page explains how charges and dispositions appear, and the court records page covers felony and misdemeanor case lookups. The jail population numbers stay aggregate. They do not split out by charge class in any public Brooklyn breakdown.


Mental Health and Medical Population

The system carries a sizable medical and mental health population, which the facility roles make plain. North Infirmary Command handles acute medical conditions, infirmary care, and ADA-compliant housing. The Bellevue Outposted Therapeutic Housing Units serve people with complex medical needs. DOC runs these units with Correctional Health Services and NYC Health + Hospitals. The presence of dedicated medical and therapeutic housing shows that a real share of the population needs care beyond standard custody.

Exact percentages for people receiving mental health or medical care are not stated as a Brooklyn figure in the harvested official sources. The Board of Correction meeting materials and DOC reports track these counts at the city level. For population planning, the medical and therapeutic units matter because they shape where people are housed regardless of borough of arrest.


National and State Context

National and state context helps place the city numbers in scale, but the per-100,000 rate for Kings County is not broken out in the harvested official sources. The Bureau of Justice Statistics publishes annual Jail Inmates reports with national jail population counts and rates. The Vera Institute publishes incarceration trends that can be filtered to Kings County and New York City jail figures. These are the two outside sources to use for rate comparisons. Any per-100,000 rate placed on a chart should be pulled from one of those reports with a date, not estimated from a Rikers total.

One thing the data does make clear: a Rikers number is not a Brooklyn rate. Because the population is citywide, dividing it by Brooklyn's residents would overstate the local rate, and dividing it by the city's residents gives a city rate, not a county one. The comparison below is structural. It shows which custody system holds people at each level rather than a fabricated rate, since borough-level per-100,000 figures are not published here.

LevelCustody SystemWhere to Find the Rate
Kings County (Brooklyn)NYC DOC jail, mostly Rikers IslandVera Institute county trends; NYC DOC monthly reports
New York StateState prison under DOCCS for terms over one yearBJS prisoner series; DOCCS reporting
NationalLocal jails across all countiesBJS annual Jail Inmates report



Where the Data Comes From

Kings County jail population data comes from a handful of official feeds. The NYC Department of Correction is the primary source for facility roles and current custody counts. City reporting through the Mayor's Office and the Board of Correction adds monthly and annual figures. For the wider picture, the Bureau of Justice Statistics publishes national jail data, and the Vera Institute publishes county-level incarceration trends. Each number should be tied back to the report it came from.

One caution runs through all of it. Do not infer a Kings County-only jail population from a Rikers Island total. Identify each metric as systemwide DOC, facility-specific, or report-specific unless a report clearly breaks the figure out by borough or court of commitment. The data is real and public, but it must be labeled correctly. For people leaving custody, the released inmates page covers release notifications and verification.